Take Care of Your Eyes

dr_bold_eyeIn the eye care business, we frequently hear our patients downplay the importance of contact lenses maintenance and scheduled replacement:

  • “I know I’m not supposed to sleep in my contacts, but… it happens.”
  • “My contacts are scheduled replacement lenses; I should change them every two weeks, but… I feel like they’re fine for another week. They just want me to buy more contacts. Plus, they feel fine.”
  • “By the time I’m ready to take my contacts out, I’m ready to just fall into bed. And when I wake up, I need to get ready quickly. So maybe I don’t always clean my contact lenses like I used to… I can use eye-drops when they’re bothering me.”Firstly, we need to remember that our eyes are the most complex organs in our bodies next to the brain, accounting for about 80% of the sensory information our brain receives in a day. Secondly, contact lenses are medical devices. You wouldn’t forget to take your medication properly if you had a neurological disorder? Or neglect blood sugar monitoring if you were a diabetic, would you?

Failing to follow your optometrist or optometric assistant’s prescription could have negative effects on your eye health:

  • Dry eyes
  • Hypoxia- a lack of oxygen causing the cornea to swell
  • Bacterial Infections
  • Giant Papilary Conjunctiva – this may be one of the scariest in my opinion
  • Inflammation of the cornea and/or lids
  • Corneal ulcers

Please, do not override your professional’s recommendations for wear and cleaning. Those recommendations are there to protect you and your eyes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

